Skip to content

“Dear Planning Department…

January 26, 2011

I enclose the following documents to support the planning application to build an extension to my house.

This extension will be:

HALF A MILE DOWN THE ROAD AND TWICE THE SIZE OF MY EXISTING HOUSE.

yours sincerely, G. Read-Merchant

Answer from planning officers should be:

” You’re having a larf sir. An extension to your house means extending your house,

Not building a completely new house twice the size in a completely different place”

yours sincerely, A Planning-Dept.

But, for some reason, planning officers at BCC  approved the previous application and agreed with the well paid Sainsburys appointed ‘Connect’ consultants. Namely that the new hypermarket application for the purposes of traffic prediction is an extension of the existing one. Yes really, what the flippin hell……..???????

There’s actually a very good reason why crafty Connect want the new Hypermarket to be considered as an extension of the existing one. Because it means they can put in a set of standard traffic predictions that is completely different from the set they would have to use for a new Hypermarket twice the size and half a mile down the road.

What that means is that Sainsburys can claim that there will only be a 15% increase in traffic volume at peak time, even though they want to increase car-parking by 45%.

And in reality, when the new Hypermarket application is considered as a new store, which is exactly what it is, the increase in traffic volume using standard models again, are predicted to be a shocking 45% at peak am., 63% at peak pm and 51% peak sat am. WOW.

No wonder Sainsburys want to hide the truth of the Monster Hypermarket.

“dear residents ,

as part of our consultation process we would like to know what you think of a 63% increase in traffic reaching 19,000 vehicle movements a day to the proposed Ashton Gate Hypermarket. As all you local residents know Winterstoke Rd and the Cumberland Flyover are already rammed to capacity. Don’t worry, we will put in a roundabout that will make bugger-all difference. Expect a massive increase in traffic along your narrow residential streets that will become rat-runs to our new hypermarket. Residents of Duckmoor Rd, North St, Coronation Rd and the rest may as well leave now because your lives will seriously be blighted. We trust you will support our plans as we wouldn’t do anything that would damage our trading prospects, now would we? Its not in our interests.”

yours sincerely,  Sainsbury Pork-Pie II

12 Comments
  1. Southville Deli permalink
    January 26, 2011 10:54 pm

    Richard, before you start –
    How come the Evening Post approach you ” as a member of the public”
    regularly when there is a story about Sainsburys/The stadium/Ashton Vale TGA .

    And mention you, “Richard Lane, a builder from Knowle” as if they’d never spoken to you before, each time?

  2. Richard Lane permalink
    January 27, 2011 9:36 pm

    Southville Deli
    I was unable to answer this question in a previous post, due to the comments section closing.
    Answer= I don’t think the evening post have never approached me to make a comment, I have approached them. I did it at the debate on the village green, and I approached them when I ran my petition, I have also written them many letters via their website but never mentioned my occupation.
    I think that possibly you might remember when my petition was running that they might have repeated some of my original quotes. On my recollection, my occupation has only been mentioned a couple of times. Once with the story about the petition and once after the village green debate.
    I was interviewed by Ian Onions at the post headquaters after contacting them to ask why there was coverage of the anti Tesco petition and no mention of mine. And as said I was interviewed by a different reporter at the debate.
    Please feel free to ask further questi0ns, I have nothing to hide.

  3. January 27, 2011 10:05 pm

    Extension to existing store = 15% increase in traffic. Sainsbury and Connect Pork Pies.

    Reality is new store twice the size in new location will be shocking headline peak rate of 63% increase, reaching 19,000 vehicle movements/day.

    No wonder they claim its a friggin extension.

    When it blatently is not. Unless some smart consultant has redefined the meaning of extension, for a nice fat fee.

  4. Southville Deli permalink
    January 28, 2011 8:46 am

    Thanks Richard, your letter writing must be relentless.

    As you said previously, the EP have not been biased in their reporting, so you must share your secret for getting your letters in there, or getting the journalists to meet you – as no letters I have written on this subject, ever get published.

    Your tips would be appreciated.

  5. Richard Lane permalink
    January 28, 2011 7:49 pm

    Southville Deli
    Persistence is my only weapon. I suppose there was something worthy of printing in my letters. The Evening post also print a lot of letters objecting to one or other of the proposals, I suppose they print those in favour as well to redress the balance.
    They also print letters that are likely to provoke a response.
    I would have joined you today for a coffee and a chat but it was too cold.
    As I said I started a petition which they probably thought worthy of a meeting, and my only other meeting was at the debate, which again I instigated.

  6. Southville Deli permalink
    January 28, 2011 8:48 pm

    Richard, feel free – though not on a Saturday.

  7. Charlie Bolton permalink
    January 31, 2011 9:40 am

    I like the analogy.

  8. Charlie Bolton permalink
    January 31, 2011 6:17 pm

    In fact I like it so much I intend to shamelessly use it

  9. February 1, 2011 9:45 am

    Excellent-feel free. All my original work is non-copyright.
    Sainsburys bluffers need exposing.

  10. Paul Bemmy Down permalink
    February 1, 2011 9:18 pm

    I have been talking to a onetime member of the planning ctte. and another person who involves himself in planning matters and neither could be convinced that this application is classed as an extention. Could you tell me where I can find this in the application. Also I’m told Sainsburys have stopped all overtime at the Ashton Store. Does this mean they are no longer “overtrading”?

  11. February 2, 2011 1:34 am

    Ok here’s the section from the Connect transport assessment document Oct 2010:

    8.0 EFFECT OF STORE EXPANSION ON TRIP ATTRACTION
    8.1 Introduction
    8.1.1 This section of the report provides details of the potential increase in trip attraction that could, as a worst case, arise from the proposed Sainsbury’s store expansion. This is based on the consideration of data contained within the TRICS database along with experience at other Sainsbury’s store extensions.

    Most of the time they talk about expansion of the existing store rather than extension.

    At the start they talk about relocation of the store. Whatever seems convenient for the data I suppose, but no consistency.

  12. February 2, 2011 9:13 am

    The overtrading argument has become even more tenuous.
    The shop is busy at some times and has many till lanes shut a lot of other times. They’re not open with trading figures or staffing. If they’ve cut overtime then they can’t be too busy.
    Always a dodgy argument for a high-st busting Mega-store expansion.
    Overtrading has been exploited by the Sainsbury’s application and having re-read the Connect transport assessment you begin to realise how overused and ill-defined this expression is as even this document refers to overtrading being a key reason why they want to move and double in size.
    I don’t think overtrading is the established technical term they would have us believe it is. More like a term they’ve made up on the hoof to confuse planning decision makers and the public even more.

Comments are closed.