Skip to content

Sainsburys greed festival carve-up at Gas HQ

June 9, 2011

Jesus H Christ when will the merchants of greed be satiated?
Not till every Sports stadium in the country becomes a cathedral to the gluttony of the supermarket merchants of greed.
Stupid planning system, stupid politicians, and idiotic lack of government action has enabled the handful of capitalist gluttons to destroy the British High St.
The granting of planning consent to the monster Sainsburys at Ashton Gate along with the gift of land freebies has meant that the Council has shot themselves in the foot on this application.
No way can they refuse another monster hypermarket at the Memorial Stadium now.
Not unless the upper classes of North Bristol have more influence over the money grabbers than us poorer folk of neglected and underdeveloped Bedminster and Ashton.

Suppose I ought to include a link to the dreaded Evening Lost. Why is their new c-beebies website so shit.. it was the pits before and now they’ve made it worse.

13 Comments
  1. June 9, 2011 8:35 am

    Mr Higgs said: “The sale of the Memorial Stadium to Sainsbury’s is part-financing the scheme and therefore it would be the enabling development which would allow the new stadium to be built.

    “Without it, the new stadium just does not happen.”

    Has anyone heard these platitudes already? Anyone smell the odorous phiff of another imminent stich-up…?

  2. Paul Bemmy Down permalink
    June 9, 2011 9:24 am

    When I go to watch my rugby team at the Memorial GROUND, where do I park? Outside the supermarket on Kellaway Ave. and I can walk it in 10 mins. That says it all. It will be interesting to see how much the Stadium Co. gets for the Mem. They relieved the rugby club of their ground for £2.1 million so this could prove the bargain of all time. The new stadium will remain in the same ownership, so no surprises there!

  3. BobS permalink
    June 9, 2011 9:27 am

    I think it is a fitting memorial to those who died in the war that a large supermarket will be built on the land set aside for sport in their memory.

    No doubt they will keep the memorial gates in place as it would make a nice entrance to the supermarket.

    I have heard that Bristol Cathedral will soon become a Tesco. Planning should be easy as they are only relocating from across the road to make a bigger store.

  4. June 9, 2011 9:36 am

    I seem to remember the Memorial Stadium had something to do with honouring the sacrifices made by brave servicemen, not honouring the bank balance of unscrupulous greed merchants.

    How about why don’t Sainsburys support higher education more by building their monster Gas hypermarket right next to the Frenchay campus instead?
    Cheap booze and Monster ready meals for impoverished students, excellent. Also 1270 car park spaces ticks all the boxes for traffic nightmare, sorted.

  5. Paul Bemmy Down permalink
    June 9, 2011 4:07 pm

    It’s truly a sad reflection that something left for “the people”, to remember those who gave their lives for this country, becomes a commodity for private companies to trade. Thank goodness for the British Legion, the charity, Help for Heroes, the good people of Wootton Bassett, and many others whose actions can still make us proud.

  6. thebristolblogger permalink
    June 9, 2011 7:37 pm

    Aren’t there covenants on the land at the Mem? Where are they? Have they been strategically ‘lost’?

  7. harryT permalink
    June 9, 2011 8:43 pm

    Who gives a fuck about covenants or other legalities.

    This is about getting a new stadium for a Bristol team to rent.

    Bring on the gerrymandering and corruption.

  8. Paul Bemmy Down permalink
    June 10, 2011 11:10 am

    Bristol Rugby sold half the stadium to Rovers (stadium co) for £2 million. Facing going bankcrupt, it seemed logical at the time but there was a clause that said if one of the partners faced bankcruptcy in future, the other could buy the other half of the ground for £10 thousand. The crazy thing was, this was only ever going to be the rugby club, so why did they agree to it? When this happened, I understand the rugby supporters challenged this, but it was the usual story of one side being able to afford the best lawyers and the other one not, so the Stadium Co. prevailed. This is what I have been told, but I was not involved myself.

  9. William powell permalink
    June 10, 2011 6:29 pm

    A miss click on my bookmark list brought me to this wonderfully odd site for the first time in quite a while. Hi guys!

    as i read through chuckling at the same arguments running over and over at the end of each post, I discovered the delightful Deano (one of my favourite characters) discussing me!( little old me 🙂 ) hi deano! it started with a quote (i know not where from) from someone called Oracle, he claimed he wasn’t me ( he is not me) he also claimed he knew me, which he may, if he reads this could he get in touch and tell me who he is? cheers!

    The oracle quote also said that Lance was not me (It is not) Though I do use the nick name “lanceloto” for all my online things (confusing i know), and many people on here know this. deano in his post stated as much in his post correctly identifying it as my OTIB user. I also have spoken a lot to Tony dyer on twitter using it. its not a secret. As such “Lance” would be a rather crap name to hide under.

    Thanks for your precious time.

    Oh! and the reason I stopped posting here was boredom / repetition… as for Bryan Thompson it happened to be the name i used on a regina spektor blog along time ago (i’m a big fan of hers) and when i first posted didn’t realise it would use it, I kept using it to avoid confusion until I visited at work (slacking :/ ) and used a different log in. My “secret identity” was destroyed, what a prat indeed.

    As for being just out of puberty, i would say I’m youngish (20) deal with it. well, that was all rather boring wasn’t it.

    …and rather off topic I’m afraid, as for my view on the rovers plans, I think they look good a good move for the club, In my ideal world the Rugby club could stay at the mem (done up) and all Bristol teams would have good fit for purpose facilities. However the financial times are hard (no new thing for Bristol sports teams) and the rugby club will surely move on. I agree the loss of a memorial is a shame and not an ideal situation.

    lots of love, especially you deano (you crap detective you) 😉

  10. Paul Bemmy Down permalink
    June 10, 2011 7:56 pm

    …and rather off topic…..not an ideal situation. I have to agree with these sentiments and I think for future fans of rugby you are correct, we have to move on.

  11. Richard Lane permalink
    June 10, 2011 11:06 pm

    Paul
    The £2m purchase price for 50% of the memorial ground, just happened to be the amount that the rugby club owed the rugby chairman. It looked as though they were stitched up, expecially as Dunford was quoted as stating that the land was valued at £6m. He promptly sold half of it and recouped his initial investment.
    You are correct at the time there was only going to be one club/partner going bust, and that was the rugby club, Dunford got the other 50% for £10k, good business for him but crap for the rugger lot who were sold down the river by their chairman I think.

  12. Paul Bemmy Down permalink
    June 11, 2011 11:49 am

    Rich.
    Blunt, but sounds pretty logical to me. If this had meant financial stability for the Rovers it may have been more acceptible but it hasn’t. What is it their fans sing,”where’s the money gone?” Sounds like a reasonable question.

  13. Paul Bemmy Down permalink
    June 12, 2011 10:54 am

    And… the ground is owned by the Stadium Co. So who owns the Stadium Co.? The present Rovers Chairman, when asked the question from a fan about who would own the new stadium said, on Radio Bristol, that it would remain in the same ownership as the Memorial GROUND. So that looks like turning a £2.01 million investment into a £60 million one. As you say, “good business” but as ever not for the sporting fans of Bristol.

Comments are closed.